Table of Contents

Workspace Settings: Users

Susan Swier Updated by Susan Swier

Getting Here

This setting is accessible by Owners and Managers only!

This setting can be accessed from the Settings navigation menu under the Workspace Settings sub-menu item, Users.

screenshot of the main users settings page

In these settings, you can:

User Overview

Here, you will be able to see the list of existing Users that have been invited to help you manage your Workspace. If they have not accepted your invitation, their email address will be marked as pending.

User Profile

The user profile consists of the User's profile avatar, display name, user access level and email address.

screenshot of a user, their email address and the options to revoke or edit

There is a status indicator at the bottom right of the User's profile avatar. If the green indicator is present, then it means the user is online. This status reflects their presence in real-time.

Last Active

The time beside the Action buttons shows the User's last seen status or last activity on the platform. This is useful for monitoring purposes.

Actions

There are two possible actions to take here:

Tip: Use the πŸ” at the top to quickly find the User that you are looking for.

Adding New Users

Step 1: Navigate to Users settings

From the Settings navigation menu, select Users from the menu.

Step 2: Press ADD USER

At the top bar, press the blue ADD USER button and the Add User dialog should open up.

gif showing how to add a user in respond.io

Step 3: Fill in the email address

Enter the email address of the User whom you wish to invite into the email address field.

Step 4: Select Access Level

Select an appropriate Access Level for this new User.

Tip: Read more about Access Levels.

Step 5: Check any restrictions that apply

For Managers and Agents, advanced restrictions may be applied if necessary depending on your Organization's needs.

gif showing how to manage user restrictions in respond.io

Step 6: Submit the details

Once you have filled out the fields, press on the blue ADD button on the bottom right.

An invitation email will be sent to the User's email address that you entered. The new User will have to click on a link embedded in the invitation email to gain access to the Workspace.

IMPORTANT: When you add a User to the Workspace, the User will be added to the Organization if they have not already been added.

Exporting Users

If you wish to export the Users of your Workspace, click on the Export button. You can export your Users in a CSV file.

gif showing how to export users to a CSV

Managing User Roles and Access

A User cannot revoke or edit their own access. This requires another User with the privilege to do so.

There are three User roles on the respond.io platform. Different User roles have different levels of access to the Workspace they have been invited to. The following are the available roles:

Assign roles to Users wisely in order to protect your Workspace. Roles allow you to limit the level of access of each collaborator invited to your Workspace.

Owner

Owner is a user access level that has access to all the modules of the platform except for billing. Owners can be invited to the Workspace by the Owners of the Workspace.

As an Owner, you can:

  • Have access to all modules
  • Manage Workspace settings
  • Invite Owners, Managers and Agents to the Workspace to collaborate
  • Manage Users

Manager

Managers are invited to work on the Workspace by Owners.

As a Manager, you can:

  • Have access to all modules
  • Restricted accessibility to Workspace Settings
  • Manage Workspace Settings
  • Invite Agents to the workspace to collaborate
  • Add Whatsapp Template Message (Twilio and MessageBird)
Advanced Restrictions

The following is the list of restrictions that are applicable to Managers:

Access to Workspace Settings - Managers with this restriction are not allowed to access the Workspace Settings. Therefore, they won't be able to manage or make changes to the settings.

Contact Deletion - Managers with this restriction are not allowed to delete Contacts.

Data Export - Managers with this restriction are not allowed to perform any data export from any modules in the Workspace.

Integration - Managers with this restriction are not allowed to connect any integration to the platform.

Agent

Agents are expected to respond to messages on the platform and have limited access.

As an Agent, you can:

  • Have access to Messages Module only
Advanced Restrictions

The following is the list of restrictions applicable to Agents:

Contact Visibility

- View Contacts assigned to their Team and themselves

Agents with this restriction can only view Contacts who are assigned to themselves and their team in the Mine Inbox and Team Inbox. The agent won't be able to view unassigned Contacts and Contacts that are assigned to those who are not in their team.

- View Contacts assigned to themselves only

Agents with this restriction can only view contacts assigned to themselves in the Mine Inbox. The agent won't be able to view unassigned contacts and contacts assigned to someone else.

For agents with the above restrictions, Contact views are accessible but they may not see the same Contact count as others if the view has Contacts they cannot access. The Contact view will only list the Contacts they are allowed to view.

Restrict Shortcut Visibility

Agents with this restriction cannot see the Shortcuts button in the messaging module. Hence, agents cannot initiate a Shortcut.

Revoking Access

To revoke a User's access to your Workspace, press their respective Revoke Access button. This will open up the Revoke Access menu.

screenshot of how to revoke users
Assign Contacts to another User

Revoking a User's access will remove them from your Workspace. By default, any Contacts that were previously assigned to this User will be marked as unassigned. If you want these Contacts to be assigned to another User, enable the checkbox option and select a User to assign Contacts to from a dropdown menu.

When revoking a User's access, their access to the Organization will remain. If you need to remove them from the Organization, please refer to this guide.
Be careful when you revoke a User's access. This action cannot be undone.

Editing Users

Press the blue EDIT button to make changes to any of your existing Users on your Workspace. This will open up the Edit User menu.

screenshot of how to edit a user in the Workspace settings

You can only make changes to a User's access level. Once you are done, press the blue UPDATE button to save any changes that you made.

User Access Permissions Details Chart

βœ… = has access ⭕️ = can be allowed by Owner ❌ = no access

Owner

Manager

Agent

Dashboard

βœ…

βœ…

❌

Contacts

βœ…

βœ…

❌

Messages

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Shortcut

βœ…

βœ…

⭕️

Broadcast

βœ…

βœ…

❌

Reports

βœ…

βœ…

❌

Workspace Settings

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- General Settings

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Users

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Teams

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Channels

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Contact Fields

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Integrations

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Snippets

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Files

βœ…

⭕️

❌

-- Data Export

βœ…

⭕️

❌

User Profile

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

Notification Preferences

βœ…

βœ…

βœ…

IS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

We'd love to hear from you!

Workspace Settings: General

Workspace Settings: Teams

Can't find what you're looking for?

Talk to an expert here!

Contact Us
Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)