Is this article helpful?

We love to hear from you!

Table of Contents

Contacts Overview

Joshua Lim Updated by Joshua Lim

Getting Here

This module is accessible by Owners and Managers only!

To access this module, in the side navigation menu > click Contacts.

The Contacts Module has 3 main components:

Segments

Segments are located on the left side of the Contacts module. Use Segments to group Contacts based on specific criteria and filters.

Learn more about Segments here.

Contacts Table

You can find your Contacts’ records and information in the Contacts Table.

The column headers with a sorting icon are the columns that are sortable, you may sort the records of these columns by clicking on the column headers. Note that the information shown in your Contacts Table depends on the columns you have selected to display.

Contact Profile

Access a Contact’s profile by clicking on their name. A profile consists of a profile image and name, supplied by the messaging channel the Contact used to message the platform. In the absence of a profile image, an avatar will be provided. In the absence of a profile name, the phone number or email address will be used instead.

screenshot of contact view

Actions

In the last column of the Contacts Table is an action menu. Click on it to view the available options:

  • View Details: Opens the Contact's record to show more details.
  • View Messages: Show a Contact's message history in the Messages Module.
  • Delete Contact: Deletes the Contact from the Contact List.
Be mindful when you delete a Contact as this will delete the conversation history associated with the Contact and the action cannot be undone.

Contacts Menu

The Contacts Menu is located on the top of the Contacts Module. It consists of the Add Contact button, Add Segment button, Search bar, Filter button, and Actions menu.

Contacts Menu

Adding Contacts

Step 1: In the Contacts Module, click the + Add Contact button.

Contacts Menu - Add Contacts
You can also choose to import multiple Contacts. Learn more about importing Contacts here.

Step 2: Fill in the Contact's information in the form provided.

Contacts Menu - Fill in details

Step 3: Review the information and click Add.

Automation and automatic Contact assignments will not be applied to Contacts added from the Contacts Module.

Searching for Contacts

If you wish to search for a particular Contact, input your query in the search box.

Learn more about the Contact search behavior here.

Filtering Contacts

You can view a list of Contacts that fulfill a set of criteria by applying filters.

Step 1: Click the filter icon to open the filter drawer on the right.

Step 2: Configure the filters.

The following are criteria that can be filtered:

  • Contact Fields
    • Standard Contact fields (e.g. First Name, Country)
    • Assignee
    • Conversation Status
    • Conversation Opened Time
    • Contact Creation Time (Created At)
    • Last Interaction Time
    • Contact fields manually created in the Workspace (Custom Fields)
  • Channels
  • Contact Tag
  • Last Interacted Channel
  • Time Since Last Incoming Message
Nested conditions are now supported. These are a group of conditions that are included in the definition of a primary condition.

Step 3: View the filtered results, which are updated in real-time and immediately reflected in the Contacts Table.

To view all of your Contacts without any filters applied, click on the Clear button located at the bottom right of the filter drawer.

Step 4: Click on the Save New Segment button to save your Segment.

Learn more about Segments here.

Exporting Contacts

Only Owners and Managers with no such restrictions can perform this action.
Exporting Contacts
You can only export 100 Contacts per page from the Contacts Module.

Customizing Columns

The columns shown in the Contacts Table can be customized depending on your needs. Select Customize Columns from the Actions menu to do this.

Customizing Columns

Select the check boxes to indicate the columns you wish to display in your Contacts Table.

Customizing columns by selecting check boxes

The column display will automatically update and reflect your selections.

The Name column is required and cannot be deselected.

Selecting Multiple Contacts

To select Contacts, check the box to the left of their respective names in the Contact row. Alternatively, select all Contacts after applying the desired filters. Once selected, you can then perform the following actions.

Delete Multiple Contacts

- Only Owners and Managers with no such restrictions can perform this action.
- You can only delete 100 Contacts at a time.
- Deleting a Contact will also delete the conversation history associated with the Contact.

Step 1: Select the Contacts you want to delete > Click the Delete button.

Delete multiple Contacts

Step 2: On the pop-up, enter the number of selected Contacts and click Delete to confirm the deletion of selected Contacts.

Confirm the deletion

Assign Tags to Multiple Contacts

Step 1: Select the Contacts you want to tag.

Step 2: Click the Assign Tags button.

Assign Tags

Step 3: Input your desired tags and click Add Tags to assign the tags to the selected Contacts.

Input tags
You can only assign Tags to 100 Contacts at a time.

Merge Contacts

Step 1: Select two Contact profiles you want to merge > click the Merge button

Merge Contacts

Step 2: Compare and review the Contact profiles and select the appropriate values to retain for the merged Contact. Then, click the Merge button to merge both profiles.

Compare and merge profiles
Merging two Contacts consolidates all associated Channels, Messages, Events, and Comments into the merged profile. This provides a holistic view of the Contact and their interactions with the platform.
Conversations closed by merging Contacts will NOT trigger a Workflow.
If you experience delays in merging Contacts, it may be due to system caching. If an error occurs, please retry after 10-15 minutes.

Unmerge Contacts

If you accidentally merge two Contacts, you can unmerge them.

Step 1: Search for the merged Contact profile that you wish to unmerge.

Step 2: At the end of the Contact row, click the Actions menu and select Unmerge Contact.

Unmerge Contact

Step 3: Select the Contact you wish to unmerge and click the Unmerge button.

Select the Contact to unmerge
When you unmerge a Contact, all interactions that happened after the Contacts were merged will be associated with the primary Contact only. The secondary Contact will keep any interactions made before the merge happened.
If you experience delays in unmerging Contacts, it may be due to system caching. If an error occurs, please retry after 10-15 minutes.

FAQ and Troubleshooting

How can I export more than 2500 Contacts?

The Contacts Module can load Contacts up to 2500 rows of pagination, this limit allows the platform to perform searches faster and more consistently.

To export more than 2500 contacts from the Contacts Module, you can use filters to narrow your search to return a specific list of Contacts that is within the 2500 pagination range.

Another way is to upgrade to an Enterprise plan which will allow you to use the Data Export Contacts feature. Learn more about Data Export here.

Feeling stuck? Do not fear.

Need assistance? Contact us for support. Help is here!

Contact Details

Can't find what you're looking for?

Talk to an expert here!

Contact Us
Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)