Table of Contents

Custom Inboxes

JQ Lee Updated by JQ Lee

Using Custom Inboxes

Use a Custom Inbox to create a list of Contacts according to predefined filters. Custom Inboxes can help you tackle your to-do list as quickly as possible.

Tip: respond.io also provides Standard and Team Inboxes. Depending on their access levels, Workspace users can use these to manage their Contacts and conversations. Learn more about the different inboxes here.

Adding a Custom Inbox

If the Standard and Team Inboxes do not address your filtering needs, you can add a Custom Inbox to the Workspace and reuse it when necessary.

Step 1: Create a Custom Inbox

Navigate to the respective modules to create a new Custom Inbox.

Create a Custom Inbox in Messages Module
Navigate to the Messages Module and click the + button next to the Custom Inbox label.

Create a Custom Inbox in Contacts Module
Navigate to the Contacts Module, click on the All Contacts toggle and select Add New Inbox.

Step 2: Name the Custom Inbox

Give your Custom Inbox an appropriate name. Use a self-explanatory name for easy reference.

Name the Custom Inbox in Messages Module
Give your new custom inbox a name.

Name the Custom Inbox in Contacts Module
Give your new custom inbox a name.

Step 3: Specify the filters

The categories available within a condition include Contact Field (inclusive of all custom fields), Contact Tag, Variables, Last Interacted Channel and Time Since Last Incoming Message. Nested conditions are now supported.

Customize the Custom Inbox filters in Messages Module
Customize your inbox view by specifying your filter conditions.

Customize the Custom Inbox filters in Contacts Module
Customize your inbox view by specifying your filter conditions.

Step 4: Save the inbox

Review the options and click SAVE INBOX to set the filters for the new inbox.

By default, newly created Custom Inboxes are only accessible by creators. Creators may share their Custom Inboxes with their team or other Workspace users.

Sharing a Custom Inbox

You can share a Custom Inbox you created with other users or teams in the Workspace. Custom Inboxes can be shared with one of three different settings:

Share Settings

Icon

Description

Private

Sharing Custom Inbox icon Private

The inbox can only be accessed by the creator.

Public

Sharing Custom Inbox icon Public

The inbox can be accessed by all Workspace users.

Shared

Sharing Custom Inbox icon Shared

The inbox can be accessed by specific users or teams.

Step 1: Navigate to Share Settings

Select the Custom Inbox in the Messages Module or Contacts Module > click on the Actions menu > select Share Settings from the menu.

Sharing a Custom Inbox how to edit

Step 2: Select a preferred share settings

Select your desired share setting. If you select Shared, fill in the list of users or teams you would like to grant inbox access to.

Step 3: Save the share settings

Review the settings and click SAVE when you are ready.

A Custom Inbox can be shared with multiple users, multiple teams or a combination of both.

Editing a Custom Inbox

Step 1: Navigate to the Custom Inbox configuration panel

Navigate to the configuration panel of a Custom Inbox either using the Actions menu or the Filter button.

Navigate to Custom Inbox's Configuration Panel in the Messages Module
1. Navigate to the configuration panel using the Actions menu.



2. Navigate to the configuration panel using the Filter button.

Navigate to Custom Inbox's Configuration Panel in the Contacts Module
1. Navigate to the configuration panel using the Actions menu.



2. Navigate to the configuration panel using the Filter button.

Step 2: Edit the configuration panel

Change the filtering options as desired. If any changes are made, the word "Edited" will be appended at the end of the Custom Inbox name.

Step 3: Save the Custom Inbox

Once you are done with the filtering options, save the edited Custom Inbox by clicking SAVE INBOX at the bottom. Alternatively, you can click on the dropdown to save the new filters as a new inbox.

Save new custom inbox on respond.io
Use Custom Inboxes to organize your Contacts into groups. To view the different Custom Inboxes you have created or have access to, find them in the dropdown menu on the top left of the Contacts Module or in the Inbox Sidebar.

Renaming a Custom Inbox

There are a few ways to rename your Custom Inbox, either from the Custom Inbox's Actions menu or the Filter's Actions menu.

Rename from the Custom Inbox's Actions menu
1. Rename from the Custom Inbox's Actions menu in the Messages Module. Navigate to Custom Inbox to rename in the Inbox Sidebar > click on Actions menu > select Rename.



2. Rename from the Custom Inbox's Actions menu in the Contacts Module. Navigate to Custom Inbox to rename on the top left dropdown > click on Actions menu > select Rename.

Rename from the Filter's Actions menu
1. Rename from the Filter's Actions menu in the Messages Module. From the Filter configurations panel > select the Actions menu > click Rename.



2. Rename from the Filter's Actions menu in the Contacts Module. Navigate to the Filter button on top right > select the Actions menu > click Rename.

Click the SAVE button to save the new name.

Tip: Make sure the name is self-explanatory for easy reference.

Deleting a Custom Inbox

If a Custom Inbox is no longer relevant or is a duplicate of another, it can be deleted from the Workspace by choosing Delete from the Actions menu.

Delete Custom Inbox from Messages Module
1. Delete Custom Inbox from Inbox Sidebar. Navigate to the Custom Inbox on the Inbox Sidebar > click on Actions menu > select Delete.



2. Delete Custom Inbox from the Filter configuration panel. On the Filter configuration panel, click on Actions menu > select Delete.

Delete Custom Inbox from Contacts Module
1. Delete Custom Inbox from the top left dropdown. Navigate to Custom Inbox on the top left dropdown > click on Actions menu > select Delete.



2. Delete Custom Inbox from Filter's Actions menu. Navigate to the Filter button on the top right > select Actions menu > click Delete.

Only saved Custom Inboxes can be edited, renamed and deleted. Standard and Team Inboxes such as Mine cannot be edited, renamed or deleted.
Be careful when you delete a Custom Inbox as it may be used by other users in the Workspace. Bear in mind that the deletion cannot be undone.

IS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

We'd love to hear from you!

Messages Overview

Assignment and Closing a Conversation

Can't find what you're looking for?

Talk to an expert here!

Contact Us
Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)