Table of Contents

Support: Closing Conversations

JQ Lee Updated by JQ Lee

Business Goal: Use the Close Conversation feature to monitor resolved issues on the respond.io platform and trigger Unassign Agent Workflow when conversations are closed.

Respond.io’s Close Conversation feature is a powerful tool that has many use cases on the platform based on your business needs. For support use cases, it can be used to monitor resolved issues on the platform in the Reports Module and trigger a Workflow to unassign support agents from customers.

Benefits of Closing Conversations

The Close Conversation feature can be used to:

  • ensure your business support experience meets customers’ expectations when resolved issues are reviewed.
  • determine agents’ assignment logic based on your business needs after conversations are closed.

Methods for Managing Closing Conversations

  1. Monitor resolved issues on the respond.io platform with the Close Conversation feature.
  2. Auto-unassign agents when conversations are closed with Workflows.

Monitor resolved issues on the respond.io platform

Use this method when you want to review all resolved issues on the platform.

When issues can be resolved in conversations on the platform, businesses can use the Close Conversation button to monitor the outcome of these resolved issues in the Reports Module.

Tip: Most issues can be resolved in a conversation on the platform without needing to create a support ticket. But if your business support usually requires multiple conversations or multiple departments to be involved for a resolution, here’s how to connect respond.io to your existing ticketing system.

Method Objectives

  • Close the conversation when an issue with a customer is resolved.
  • Monitor all closed conversations.

How-To

Close the conversation when an issue with a customer is resolved
Tip: Learn more about the Close Conversation feature here.

To close a conversation with a customer, use the Close Conversation button on top and add an optional Closing Note to provide a summary of the conversation.

Close Conversation button location

In the Closing Note, add a Conversation Category and Summary. This will be useful for Managers to better understand the conversations between customers and support agents without having to go through the details in the chat.

Closing Note dialog
Monitor all closed conversations
Tip: Learn more about the Conversation List here.

To monitor closed conversations, use the Conversation List in the Reports Module. The list table shows an overview of all closed conversations, including data such as first response and resolution time, conversation summary and more, within a selected time period.

Reports Conversation List
Tip: Learn more about reporting for support here.

Auto-unassign agents when conversations are closed with Workflows

Use this method when you want to unassign a support agent from a customer when the agent closes a conversation.

Often in support use cases, it’s recommended to unassign an agent from a customer when a conversation is closed, but the respond.io platform keeps agents assigned to Contacts by default. However, this logic can be modified by building a Workflow to unassign your agents from customers when conversations are closed.

Method Objectives

  • Trigger the Unassign Agent Workflow when a conversation is closed.
  • Automatically unassign agents from customers.

Workflow Setup

Here’s how to set up an Unassign Agent Workflow.

how to set up an Unassign Agent Workflow.
Trigger the Unassign Agent Workflow when a conversation is closed
Tip: Learn more about Triggers here.

Configure Trigger to start the Unassign Agent Workflow when a conversation is closed by an agent.

Configure Trigger to start the Unassign Agent Workflow when a conversation is closed by an agent.

On Trigger, select Conversation Closed in the dropdown > set Trigger Conditions to Source, is equal to, User. This way, whenever a platform User (support agent) closes a conversation, it will initiate this Workflow.

Automatically unassign agents from customers
Tip: Learn more about the Assign To Step here.

Use the Assign To Step to unassign agents from customers.

Use the Assign To Step to unassign agents from customers.

Add Assign To Step > select Unassign in Action dropdown.

IS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

We'd love to hear from you!

Send Outbound Support Messages

Use respond.io to Create Tickets in External Ticketing Systems

Can't find what you're looking for?

Talk to an expert here!

Contact Us
Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)